Schengen Visa / Short-term stay in Germany for Business, Tourism, Visit, Medical

07.03.2018 - Article

The Schengen Agreement took effect on 26 March 1995, and currently comprises of the following countries:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Liechtenstein

The purpose of the Schengen Agreement is - among other objectives - the issuance of a common and uniform visa for short-term stays of up to 90 days in one or several of the Schengen countries.

Malaysian Citizens

Malaysian citizens do not require a visa when travelling to one or more of the Schengen countries for business or tourism purposes. The stay in the Schengen States, however, may not exceed 90 days within a 180-days period. This means that once you have stayed for 90 days in any of the Schengen States, there will be a waiting period of 90 days imposed before you can re-enter any Schengen State.

Please note that the Malaysian visitor will need to present a valid Malaysian passport, proof of sufficient funds and a return airline ticket upon arrival at the first point of entry in the Schengen States.

Other nationals
Other nationals might require a visa to enter Germany as tourists or for business purposes.

To ascertain whether you need a visa, please click on the link below:
List of States whose cititzens require a visa to enter Germany

Where to apply, fees and application timeframe
You can apply at the German Embassy Kuala Lumpur if you intend to remain either in Germany or travel to various other Schengen Countries with the longest stay in Germany.

Your application can only be accepted if all requested documents are submitted. The visa fee is € 60, - payable in cash and Malaysia Ringgit only.

The average processing time is 7 – 14 days.
Applications shall be lodged no more than three months before the start of the intended visit.

Top of page